RSS

My Muse Needs a Megaphone!

09 Aug

The moment you realize your Muse has been missing for a few days is never a pleasant one. I tend to spend several days surfing the web and looking at cool pictures, reading random blogs, and mashing the refresh button on Facebook hoping that something interesting will happen. Generally, this behavior just leads to my friends on Facebook complaining about me spamming their news feed and my Klout score falling. Not a single word ends up being written when I get into these odd little funks.

Today, I had the realization that my Muse was on vacation again. So I went searching for her. I searched on Facebook, I Googled her, I searched for her among the dust bunnies under my cupboards, and I poured through my text message (SMS) inbox. Low and behold, she was nowhere to be found.

Defeated, I went back to my ever-so-handy web browsing. Link hopping on Google landed me on an entire page full of quotes about writing. There she was, sitting between a heap of writing quotes that made me laugh out loud and a slew of writing quotes meant to inspire.

I’m not sure if it was the influx of oxygen to my brain from the laughing or if the motivational quotes actually did their job, but suddenly my Muse was back and upset that I had been ignoring her. The rush of creativity that hit me was almost too much to keep up with. I got home from work two hours ago and I’ve written 1,500 words in my current revision of my novel and this blog post.

All in all, not such a bad day, right?

After thinking about it, I have decided to undertake an experiment. From now on, when I find myself aimlessly wandering through cyber-land, I’m going to give my wandering a little bit of focus. Instead of just link hopping, I’ll limit myself to pictures, websites, Facebook posts and blogs about writing. I spend more time looking at pictures of cats than I do at work every day. It’s become a terrible habit and it has become evident in my writing (or lack thereof).

I’m hoping that this new shift in behavior will prove to be beneficial for me AND the people who depend on me to give them life on the page. If any of you have any advice on how to give your Muse a megaphone when your ears stop working, comments are more than welcome!

As always, happy writing!

D

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2012 in Mountains and Mole Hills

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “My Muse Needs a Megaphone!

  1. Scribbler

    August 9, 2012 at 7:37 PM

    Great Post! I nearly always feel like my muse is on vacation. I usually listen to music which often helps me b/c I can temper a story to the tone and mood of a song I am listening to.

    Adieu, scribbler

     
    • gavinmorningstar

      August 9, 2012 at 7:39 PM

      I’m ALWAYS listening to music when I write! I can’t write in silence to save my life! That alone is enough to drive me to randomly surf the web! What, specifically, do you listen to? I’ve got a playlist with about 52 songs on it that I’m ALWAYS looking to expand!

       
      • Scribbler

        August 9, 2012 at 8:00 PM

        I have a playlist called inspiration, I have some songs from Helen Jane Long. I like listening to classical music stations because I don’t get distracted by lyrics. I listen to a little Sade and Nora Jones on a very low volume. I have some Justin Nozuka, India Arie, Shy’m (french artist), and Musiq Soulchild. I am extremely fond of movie soundtracks, like the Memoirs of a Geisha soundtrack (my favorite). You?

        Scribbler

         
      • gavinmorningstar

        August 9, 2012 at 9:14 PM

        I like music of all kinds! Braveheart is an AMAZING soundtrack to write to! The playlist I’m usually listening to has everything from Eminem to Josh Groban and back. Phil Collins was a recommendation for writing that I received lately and he’s been treating me pretty well. What I NEED to do is create a playlist for each character I write… My antagonist is TOTALLY an Eminem kind of guy… My MC is more of a Taylor Swift kind of girl… My current playlist has a little of both, but that can get messy between the two of them! Hahaha!

         
      • Scribbler

        August 10, 2012 at 5:35 AM

        I love eminem’s voice, but I don’t know if I could write to him. He is definitely harsh on the ears. 🙂 I could write to Taylor Swift and I will certainly be checking out Phil Collins.

        You gave me a wonderful idea. I never really associated my music to the character I was writing about, just a particular scene in general or when I have been struck by writers block. Great idea! It will be very fun and interesting to give my characters their own playlist.

        Adieu, scribbler

         
      • gavinmorningstar

        August 10, 2012 at 7:06 AM

        SO happy you got something new out of my blog (or, more specifically, our conversation post-blog)! My roommate just asked my why I was smiling like an idiot and I told him, “My blog is doing its job!”. Keep in touch and let me know how the character playlist goes for you!

         
      • Scribbler

        August 10, 2012 at 7:32 AM

        I will definitely be stopping by and I’ve enjoyed it (our conversation) as well.

        Adieu, scribbler

         
  2. Tiffany

    August 10, 2012 at 6:39 AM

    Loved this! I usually read and wait on it to find me. (It’s great as far as distractions go but usually unproductive.) I loved hearing about your search. It was captivating and I was hooked from the start.

     
    • gavinmorningstar

      August 10, 2012 at 7:04 AM

      Thank you, Tiffany! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I read as much as I possibly can as well, I find it helps keep my Muse close by. 😀 Generally speaking, my Muse never really goes anywhere… She just gets a little quiet and I don’t take the extra care to listen to what she’s trying to tell me. Eventually, she’ll hit me over the head with a large stone and start screaming in my ear though!

       
      • Tiffany

        August 10, 2012 at 7:24 AM

        Haha. It’s very different for me. I love reading the written word. But when it comes to writing, my muse is ever elusive and it hits my and the randomest moments. If I don’t hurriedly jot it down, it is usually lost. Your post makes me think I should start looking at cat pictures to help. 🙂

         
      • gavinmorningstar

        August 10, 2012 at 7:30 AM

        Hahahaha! Give it a shot! You never know WHAT will end up working! Your muse might really enjoy LOLcats for all we know! 😉

         
  3. Heidi Street

    August 11, 2012 at 11:37 AM

    I tend to go on a long walk when I get a bit fed up with my muse going on strike. I live near a beach, so I walk from my town to there (about five miles) and pop my headphones in. As I walk, I let my mind drift. Anything goes, so if I listen to Olly Murs, I end up getting inspiration for a chirpy character. If it’s raining heavily, I get the idea for a negative plot twist, etc. I then go duck into a local cafe, and jot those thoughts down. I ought to pop there next week, I need to get something written, as long as I’m not needed at the shop… 🙂

     
    • gavinmorningstar

      August 11, 2012 at 12:42 PM

      Heidi, I’m so jealous of you! During the spring and fall I have the option to go on walks here. But we break 40 degrees Celsius here in the summer on a regular basis and hit around -10 in the winter. I don’t mind the heat so much, but it does cook my brain a bit and I tend to just want to lie around in the air conditioning by the time I do anything excessive in heat like that. As for cold, I hate it. A lot. Especially if there is snow involved (which, let’s face it, is 90% of the time in Utah). However, Olly Murs was just added to my writing playlist! Thanks for pointing me at him! Ha ha!

       
      • Heidi Street

        August 11, 2012 at 1:05 PM

        Yeah, he’s a very cheery singer, I love ‘Heart Skips a Beat’ and ‘Dance With Me Tonight’ 🙂

         
      • gavinmorningstar

        August 11, 2012 at 1:13 PM

        Hahahaha! Those are the two that I added to my playlist!

         
      • Heidi Street

        August 11, 2012 at 1:21 PM

        Excellent! Enjoy the cheery beats 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
