RSS

Mega Meme Monday! 8/12/13

12 Aug

Well, we’re up to $20 this week!

That’s right! A $20 gift card to Amazon is up for grabs for as little as 100 words! All you have to do is write me a short story that tells us about the events that lead up to the photo at the BOTTOM of this post being taken. 100 words should take you 2 minutes, I think you can handle that! All I ask is that you keep the story under 1,500 words for the sake of those who will be reading it next week! Submission details can be found in the caption of the photo in question!

Without further ado, I bring you this week’s Mega Meme!

This week's creative spurt was brought to you by this photo!

This week’s creative spurt was brought to you by this photo!

“This one says it’s a very unique piece of lake front property and it’s within our price range, should we go look at it?”

He leaned over my shoulder and continued reading the listing.

“You know what ‘MUST SEE!’ means in Realtor language, right?”

I huffed out a breath of air in an attempt to show my frustration with his negative attitude. Every house we had looked at had been personally chosen by him and every one of them had something  wrong with it that just didn’t meet his standards. I was getting sick of it.

“Can we just go look at this one because I like it? Even if it’s one that you end up hating everything about, like all the others, I will at least be able to feel like I have a little bit of a say in this whole process.”

He nudged me with his elbow, “You know you have a say. This is our life now.”

“Do I?”

The skepticism must have come through in my voice because he reached around me and took control of the laptop. He shot an email off to the Realtor listed as the contact containing our phone number and a brief message expressing interest in a showing.

Before the kiss he planted (roughly, I might add) on top of my head had stopped hurting, his cell started to vibrate on the table.

He picked it up and answered with a simple, “Hello?”

The one sided conversation that ensued had me curious.

“Really?”

Silence.

“Right now?”

Silence

“You’ve got to be kidding me!”

Silence.

“Awesome. See you in twenty minutes.”

I looked up at him expectantly.

“Clearly, this agent is either really bored, or really wants to get this house sold. Get your stuff and let’s go to the lake!”

I jumped up, my excitement nearing the point of immature, and wrapped my arms around his neck.

“Thank you thank you thank you thank you!” I shouted as I dashed into the bedroom to grab my wallet and a pad of paper to take notes on.

I all but leaped out of the seat when we pulled up to the spot along the lake where the agent and told us to meet her. I spun around in a circle taking in all of the scenery and searching for the property we were about to view. The only thing I could see was a large house on what appeared to be an island about fifty yards into the lake.

A woman with gleaming white teeth approached us with her hand extended and greeted each of us by name.

“Now, you know what ‘must see’ means in Realtor talk, right?”

The love of my life cast a glance at me that all but screamed “I TOLD YOU SO!”, but I ignored it and said, “Well, if we must we must!”

The agent smiled and stepped to the side with a grandeur flourish of her arm and indicated we should get in the cute little boat she had pulled up on the shore.

Getting a little nervous, I let Mark climb in first.

Once we were settled, the agent gave the boat a little shove and hopped in at the back of the boat. The little outboard motor came to life and we began to move towards the island in the distance.

As it came into view, it was all I could do to keep myself from falling into the water as I leaned over the bow to get a closer look.

That was when I realized that the house wasn’t on an island at all.

It was built IN the water.

I just had to snap a photo as the agent maneuvered us through the water-level front door.

She docked the boat at the bottom of the huge spiral staircase and I jumped out and spun to beam a smile at Mark. I wasn’t the only one beaming.

After a quick tour, we had barely made it back into the boat before we both asked in tandem, “When can we make an offer?”

Next week’s Mega Meme will be based on THIS photo! Submissions are due by 11:59:59 PM MST on August 17th You can submit them using the form below or via email to megamememonday@googlegroups.com

Next week’s Mega Meme will be based on THIS photo!
Submissions are due by 11:59:59 PM MST on August 17th
You can submit them using the form below or via email to megamememonday@googlegroups.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2013 in Mega Meme Monday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mega Meme Monday! 8/12/13

  1. Simone

    August 15, 2013 at 8:11 AM

    No condoms? Lol

     
    • gavinmorningstar

      August 15, 2013 at 1:24 PM

      You never sent me what you had! I wrote in a rush instead. 😛

       

Leave a Reply

 
